17
Mar
10

I’m Coming Home!

As the date of my flight approached, I started to get somewhat excited about the prospect of returning home. There are definitely things that I have loved about Southeast Asia, but there are also some definite dislikes, and some things that I miss from back home. I have been asked often what I miss the most, and Courtney and I have taken to saying “man, I’m really gonna miss such-and-such when I’m back home…” in the past few weeks.

To give you an idea of what I mean, here is an example:

Things I am looking forward to back home:

  • seeing family and friends (duh!)
  • having clean feet
  • TV shows
  • whole grain bread
  • a nice bowl of cereal with milk
  • shoes that aren’t flip flops (looking forward to wearing heels again!)

Things I will miss about Asia:

  • warm weather and sunshine
  • not needing to wear much clothing, even at night
  • getting a good meal for under $5 (breakfast, lunch or dinner)
  • fresh fruit juice
  • not needing to wear socks
  • living out of a backpack

I know this last one sounds a bit strange, but I find it oddly comforting to know that I can survive on what is in my pack and that’s it. I don’t need to have 20 dresses, or 50 tank tops, or 10 pairs of jeans. It feels a little like when I wore a uniform in high school: there are only so many combinations of things to wear, so getting dressed is a breeze! Sure, sometimes I’ve wished I had something from my closet back home (damn, I wish I brought that dress!) but after a while it was just convenient and you don’t really notice that you’ve worn the same pair of shorts three days out of the last four.

Things I will NOT miss about Asia:

  • toilets (can’t put paper in them, which is weird)
  • not being able to drink tap water
  • lack of English channels
  • not being able to trust what ANYONE tells you (unless you are in Singapore 🙂

I want to acknowledge all my friends and family (yes, you!) who have been with me this entire trip, through my blog. I can’t say how much it has meant to me to hear all the encouragement from everyone who has been reading and following my every move. Your thoughts and support has helped me get through this trip and all the difficulty in the weeks before, and for that you have my sincerest thanks!

Well, the call for boarding has come, and it’s time to get on my flight and go back to the Western World. I just keep telling myself that although the tan will fade, the memories will last forever!

0 Responses to “I’m Coming Home!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Posts

My Pages

Hi Friends and Family! To subscribe to my blog and get updates sent directly to your email, click the button below and enter your email! Enjoy!

Join 11 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,071 hits

Me


