21
Feb
10

One Chapter Ends, Another Begins…

Well, it’s been so long since my last post, I don’t really know where to start. Right now we are in Chiang Mai, Thailand, where our tour ended on Saturday after an action-packed nine days in Laos that was way too short for my liking. I loved Laos, and enjoyed Chiang Mai way more than I thought I would. There is so much to see and do, and Chiang Mai is small enough to get familiar with, yet large enough to hold great restaurants, fun activities, and heaps of friendly backpackers.

As I mentioned, our tour ended on Saturday, and while it was sad to say goodbye to the people we met and the friends we made over the last 40 days, I’m slightly relieved to be out of a group and on our own. Being on tour had its ups and downs. It was fun to be able to go out and do activities as a group and have our own private transportation, and to know that there were always people around to go out with. On the other hand, it was frustrating having to wait around for people, or to eat every meal at a set time, and there were times that were absolutely exhausting for all the travel and activities we were doing.

Now that Court and I are finally on our own, it’s nice to be able to set our own pace, and stay an extra day or leave a place early just because we want to. We were both exhausted from our busy few days in Chiang Mai, so we booked a “relax day” that we could sleep in, use the internet, and eat when we felt hungry. It’s nice to not be on a fixed schedule anymore!

For those of you who have been asking, I haven’t had a problem with food at all, there is always plenty of local food as well as western food at most places we eat at. I have come to the realization that Asian people think westerners eat bacon, eggs, and toast for breakfast EVERY DAY, as that is what every guesthouse serves, if they include breakfast. Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE bacon and eggs, but I was thrilled when I arrived in Chiang Mai and found regular cornflakes at the breakfast buffet! ME! Excited for cereal! HA HA. The good part about this is that I have begun putting back on the 11lbs that I lost in December, and my clothing is actually starting to fit again, which is a relief.

Court and I are leaving Chiang Mai for Bangkok tonight on the overnight train, which departs at 5.55PM, and will arrive in Bangkok around 7.30AM tomorrow (Friday). We will spend three days in Bangkok, doing things we didn’t get to see on our one-day stop over before the tour departed for Cambodia back in January, and then leave for southern Thailand by overnight train on the 21st (or 22nd, we haven’t decided yet 🙂

From there, we will spend two weeks island hopping through Thailand’s beaches, reaching the full moon party on March 1. That is really the only solid plan we have at the moment, so more details will come as they become available.

Keep checking the blog for news and stories on the adventure of booking train and bus tickets, finding accommodations, eating meals, and doing every possible activity that southern Thailand has to offer!

For now, this is Lexi saying “ka poon ka” and thanks for reading!

Lex

1 Response to “One Chapter Ends, Another Begins…”


  1. 1 kimberly beale
    February 18, 2010 at 1:08 PM

    as I sit and read your posts I find myself day dreaming of an adventure of my own someday and not thinking of the task at hand “SCHOOL”…LOL!!! I am so happy that you have been able to have this adventure in you life and I know it will be something you will never forget. I know I wont and all I am doing is reading about it. *smiles*


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

My Posts

My Pages

Hi Friends and Family! To subscribe to my blog and get updates sent directly to your email, click the button below and enter your email! Enjoy!

Join 12 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,063 hits

Me


