05
Jan
10

Sa Wat Dee Ka!

Sa Wat Dee Kat from Bangkok Thailand!

I’ve finally arrived, after dreaming of this for more than five years! It’s now 11:10PM Tuesday January 5 in Bangkok, which is twelve hours ahead of Toronto time.

It has been in reality only 32 hours since we left Toronto, but it seems like two days. We arrived in Bangkok around 11AM this morning, after a 14:30 hour flight to Hong Kong, a four hour layover and then a 2:50 minute flight to Bangkok. Our flight to HK was delayed by more than an hour, but we made great time and ended up landing early anyway. The packs arrived safe and sound, knock on wood.

Today we met our tour group, which is made up of 16 people, four males and 12 females (the odds are stacked in your favour, guys!) Our tour is a combination of three different tours, so while the majority will stay the same, some members will leave in Ho Chi Minh City, where we will get a new tour leader. Tonight we had a group dinner, followed by drinks at a couple backpacker bars. I’d forgotten how great it is to meet new people – everyone seems really great and we are getting along well. Most of them are Australians, there are two Brits, one American, one Norweigan, and we are the only Canadians. Represent!

Tomorrow we depart our hotel  (which is clean and has airconditioning!) at 7.30AM and travel 8 hours to Siem Reap, Cambodia. While I can’t wait to see the wonders of Cambodia, I’m not looking forward to my last day with a ceramic toilet – I had my first experience with a “bidet” today, which is really a hose attached to a toilet. I will be bringing toilet paper with me everywhere I go from now on!

Anyway, I need to be up in six hours, and as I haven’t had a good night sleep in almost two days, it’s time to hit the sack. I’m looking forward to sleeping while lying down 🙂

I miss you all, and will hopefully post some pictures in the next week or so. Stay tuned!

Lex

1 Response to “Sa Wat Dee Ka!”


  1. 1 Enid
    January 6, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    Hi Lexi, Just read your blog and am sitting here looking out the back window at the snow Have a nice day and enjoy the sun …Ech


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Posts

My Pages

Hi Friends and Family! To subscribe to my blog and get updates sent directly to your email, click the button below and enter your email! Enjoy!

Join 12 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,063 hits

Me


