29
Dec
09

What’s in a Pack…?

So I have been steadily accumulating items for my trip over the past five months… it started with shoes and sandals and a few items of clothing (to take advantage of the awesome travel store summer clearance sales!) and now has grown to include toiletries, multi-use clothing, bags, accessories, and more!

I wanted to create a packing list, to guide future travellers and also so I can compare at the end of the trip what was a good thing to pack, and what was useless. I’m going to try and make it as comprehensive as possible, so bear with me as I update over the next couple days!

Clothing (most clothing is lightweight, breathable, antimicrobial, and wicking):

  • 1 pair pants (that zip into shorts)

    My pack, ready to be packed

  • 1 pair lightweight capris
  • 2 skirts (1 short, 1 knee-length)
  • 1 pair shorts
  • 5 tank tops
  • 2 short sleeve tops
  • 1 long sleeve top
  • 1 lightweight, breathable jacket
  • 1 bikini
  • 4 pairs underwear
  • 2 bras
  • 2 pair socks (merino wool)
  • 1 sarong
  • 1 pair trekking shoes
  • 1 pair water sandals
  • 1 pair flip flops

Toiletries

  • hand sanitizer (!)
  • anti-perspirant (Degree Clinical is the best I have found so far!)
  • shampoo/conditioner (all-in-one!)
  • laundry wash
  • razor and refills
  • moisturizer
  • sunscreen
  • Dove soap
  • bug spray (1 for nighttime, 1 for daytime)
  • aloe gel
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • qtips
  • moist towelettes
  • 1 roll of toilet paper
  • hair mousse
  • floss
  • 3 lip balms
  • tweezers
  • nail clippers
  • nail file

Medical/Drugs (about half these things are for battling travellers diharrea):

  • 90 tablets Malarone
  • 100 capsules Florastor
  • Imodium
  • 20 tablets Zithromax
  • 10 tablets Levofloxacin tablets
  • Advil
  • Tylenol
  • Tums
  • Antisceptic wipes
  • Bandaids
  • Polysporin
  • Melatonin (for jetlag)
  • Gravol
  • eye drops

Accessories/Miscellaneous

  • Headlamp
  • travel sewing kit
  • 6 mesh bags
  • 1 first aid bag
  • electrolyte tablets
  • 40 Crystal Lite
  • 2 books
  • cards
  • cable ties
  • lanyard
  • drain plug
  • clothesline
  • pill box
  • adapter plugs
  • waterproof case
  • travel alarm clock
  • silk hostel sheet
  • travel pillow
  • travel towel
  • digital camera and memory cards
  • journal
  • passport, 5 photos

All this must fit into a 65L pack and 2L day pack! Wish me Luck!

Lex

3 Responses to “What’s in a Pack…?”


  1. December 31, 2009 at 6:05 AM

    Good call on the wordpress switcharoo, looks great! Oh and with regards to packing, you can never have enough underwear.Just saying.

    • 2 Alexis Mayer
      December 31, 2009 at 6:08 AM

      Thanks Jefferson! Coming from you, the blog expert, that is quite a compliment! I encourage your constructive criticism of all things blog-related 🙂
      I am only taking enough underwear to make it until I can wash them… who wants to cart around ten pairs of dirty underwear? Not me, so I’m keeping it simple.

  2. 3 Aimeeeeeeee
    December 31, 2009 at 2:38 PM

    Alexis, this is all truly fabulous. You’ve created quite the little blog here missy, and I can’t wait to follow along everyday!! My job affords me the “luxury”. I will miss you lovey but am really happy that you’re living a dream! Try not to drive Court too crazy, in the most lovingly sisterly way possible of course! Congrats on the letters (hehe), the trip planning, and now the trip execution. You inspire more then you know.

    Be safe, silly and sincere in all you do abroad.

    Love ya long time,
    Aims


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Posts

My Pages

Hi Friends and Family! To subscribe to my blog and get updates sent directly to your email, click the button below and enter your email! Enjoy!

Join 12 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 3,063 hits

Me


